Lifestyle

The Best Kind of Morning

… Is one where you’re up at 8am brewing masala chai. The house is quiet and you’re listening to music that puts you in a positive frame of mind. 

I love these mornings because I know I won’t be disturbed, and when life gets very stressful I can count on these moments to energise me. I can sing and dance while my tea brews – how’s that for meditation? 

The Morning Playlist:

How To Make One Cup of Chai: 

  1. Scoop out 1-1.5 teaspoons of loose leaf chai and add it to your small pot. The one from T2 is my holy grail!
  2. Add 1 cup of boiling water and 1/2 cup of milk.
  3. Add honey to taste, I don’t like it too sweet so about 1 tablespoon is perfect.
  4. Add a splash of rosewater for an even more complex drink.
  5. Simmer the chai mixture on the lowest heat for about 15 minutes and stir occasionally. After many trials, I’ve realised that a very low heat is the key to making this taste the best. If it boils, a light brown film starts to appear on the surface and is quite annoying.
  6. Strain and enjoy!

Trust me, it’s worth the effort.

What are your favourite ways to start the day?

Lauren

Leave a Reply

