Cooking

Rabbit food

The constant rain has been a depressing start to the Easter break, and all I want to do is make hearty comfort food and curl up in bed with the latest episodes of Revenge. In my attempt to get into the Easter spirit this year, I spent the afternoon baking a carrot cake – it doesn’t sound nearly as sexy as a luscious chocolate cake that I made earlier this year but it still tastes great! It would be right up your alley if you like your cakes on the moist (sorry) side, and less sweet.

I used this cake recipe from Donna Hay and substituted half a cup of walnuts for the pecans and sultanas. And three large carrots were enough.

For the frosting, I took the caramel cream cheese one from Sticky Fingers Bakery (Frankie issue 50).

IMG_2813

IMG_2826

11115596_1435194213441661_2721582443381058284_n
The nuts seemed to lend a savory taste which I liked.

Hope you’re all doing well!

XO Lauren


Leave a Reply

