Food

Sun and seafood

I was looking forward to a day out eating good food and seeing G again. I decided to return to Baroque and sample more of the menu because I loved this place from the first time I went there. After being indecisive for ten minutes (incredible menu!), I finally chose to have lemon lime bitters, mussels and some oysters to share.

photo 1 (82) photo 3 (65)

First up were Sydney rock oysters on a bed of rock salt with a mignonette dressing. A perfect starter for a seafood-oriented lunch!

photo (32)

Next we had Spanish serrano ham (50g) drizzled with a tiny bit of olive oil. It was my first time trying serrano and I loved it as it was less salty than other types of jamon I’ve had in the past.

photo 4 (47)

Then our plates of steamed Boston Bay mussels with white wine garlic cream came to our table and I was pleasantly surprised by the generous portion. This was a most satiating dish – bite-sized mussels in a flavoursome, velvety sauce… Although the richness was overpowering at times, it was fixed by munching on some fries.

photo 5 (25)For dessert, we shared pistachio, salted caramel, and rosewater macarons as well as the Le Roi Soleil, a refreshing mango mousse with coconut centre coated with some almond nougatine.

Baroque | Bistro Bar Patisserie on Urbanspoon

XO Lauren

Leave a Reply

