Drink · Food

Long Island

On Monday evening, I headed off to Surry Hills for dinner and drinks with a dear friend of mine. After arriving at Parma Cucina at 6pm, we had a perusal of the cocktail menu and were very happy with the many cocktails on offer at the happy hour price ($9).

photo 1 (72) photo 2 (73)

We finally made up our minds! H had a seriously good mojito and I decided to go with a long island iced tea.

photo 3 (57) photo 4 (40) photo 5 (21)Our entrees arrived in a timely fashion and we started off with Italiana bruschetta and tossed warm mixed olives with garlic, chilli, rosemary and olive oil. The olives were plump and flavoursome, but I believe the chilli and rosemary may have been omitted because I don’t remember tasting them. Apart from that, we enjoyed our very generous serving! The bruschetta with proscuitto, buffalo mozzarella, tomato, basil and oregano was something I could whip up at home with plenty of spices and fresh buffalo mozzarella. To my understanding, this was supposed to feature a white cheese that melts into a creamy pale colour, but what we got was not dissimilar in taste to shredded mozzarella. Better luck next time.

photo 1 (73) photo 2 (74)Onto the pasta, I had the tagliolini allo scoglio with scampi, mussels, clams in a cherry tomato sauce and H felt like a tagliolini carbonara with proscuitto, cream and egg topped with parmesan cheese. I was very pleased with my choice, the sauce was mildly spiced in the best way. If only there was more tagliolini, and seafood… pretty please give me the recipe! As for the carbonara, H thought it was good but a tad too creamy, so she was unable to finish it. I usually steer clear of cream-based pasta dishes either in fear of stuffing myself to the extreme, or that I will waste a portion of it.

Overall I was very happy with the attentive service at Parma, I will be coming back for cocktails and Italian as soon as my budget allows for it!
Parma Cucina on Urbanspoon

photo 4 (41) photo 5 (22)

photo 3 (59)

After paying the bill, we walked around the block in search for the Winery. We arrived and were taken aback by the lovely fairylights strung around the entrance and on the trees! What a relaxing ambience for post-dinner drinks.

photo 2 (75) photo 1 (74)First up, H had a Giggly Rose (Tanqueray gin, bubbles, rose syrup, mint, lemon) and I picked Pound for Pound (Tanqueray gin, earl grey, almond, peach bitters, lemon). Great choices!

photo 4 (42)Then we began to wind down for the evening with rosé bubbles (Chandon Brut Rosé NV, VIC) and my sauv blanc (Kudos, NZ). Wine time is always a good time.

photo 5 (23) The Winery on Urbanspoon

photo 2 (76)Following our drinks, we made a pitstop at Messina for Nicciolino gelato before making the commute back home.

 

XO Lauren

Leave a Reply

