Drink · Food

Crown Street

Last night, H and I headed out to Surry Hills for dinner and drinks. It was a highly anticipated meeting for both of us as, hence the multiple celebratory cocktails! Our first stop was at Essenza Italian, a cozy restaurant situated on the corner of Devonshire and Crown Streets.

essenza

essenza

essenza

Our window seats ensured maximum natural light for nice photos.

essenza

Marinated sicilian green olives

essenza

Garlic bread

essenza

My cosmopolitan, her mojito

essenza

We both gravitated towards the gnocchi; I had the dish with prawns, vodka, olives, basil, cream and cherry tomatoes. I had never tasted a pasta this incredible, the gnocchi was pillowy and the prawns were absolutely moreish. This is the dish to come back for! H had a glorious one full of broccoletti, tomato, olives, pine nuts and lemon nut butter. I’m excited to try out Essenza’s other pasta offerings because I’m sure they are just as incredible.

essenza

Then it got dark, so after tasting the complimentary cookies we made our way to the bar across the road.

Essenza Italian on Urbanspoon

trinity bar

While my friend had the cider on tap, I had to try out the jar cocktails, and this was the Shanghai Fizz. It was full of gin, lychee, all the good things.

trinity bar

And we got a bit silly in the bathrooms.

Trinity Bar & Bistro on Urbanspoon

mille vini

After our drinks, we strolled along the road for Gelato Messina but when we arrived, the line was ridiculously long. There happened to be a dimly lit restaurant next door called Mille Vini, so we ducked inside for another drink. I’m keeping this destination in mind for a future first date!

mille vini

mille vini

H had an Americano.

mille vini

I decided to develop my cocktail palate and went for the margarita. Enjoyed it!

mille vini

What a fun night! I was lucky I had a later start to class today.

Stay classy.Mille Vini on Urbanspoon

XO Lauren

One thought on “Crown Street

Leave a Reply

