Beauty

New year, new beauty

updated beautyupdated beautyupdated beauty updated beauty updated beauty updated beauty

It’s about time that I updated my current beauty routine as it’s been almost a year since I’ve done a proper post on it. There have been some drops and some new additions to my relatively low maintenance, fresh look. The bonus is that it really doesn’t take too long to be presentable in the mornings.

In the morning after washing my face with a gentle cleanser, I moisturise with Antipodes Rejoice Light Facial Day Cream. I’ve started simplifying my skincare with products of the natural or organic kind. Thus, coconut, tea tree and rosehip oils are on high rotation in my bathroom because they’re inexpensive and feel good for my skin. Next I blend some Revlon Photoready Concealer in Light under my eyes and pat it in with my ring finger for an instantly brighter complexion. I usually take a bit of the concealer around the nostril area because it tends to get a little red! Since I don’t wear any foundation, I might dab some Maybelline Fit Me Concealer in Fair on any parts of my face that need tone evening. I avoid the centre of my forehead because it’s where I can break out – oily skin and a layer of product only makes me more prone! Time for a light dusting with Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder in Silky Beige.

Moving onto brows, I stick to my Essence brow kit and run a little of the light taupe-y shade through the tail. For a natural look, I don’t pick up more powder when I get closer to the start of my eyebrow and just use whatever’s left on the brush. I have also started using the light shade as a subtle eyeshadow, blended all over the lid with the Ecotools Airbrush Concealer Brush. I love this brush for blending powder products since it’s way too dense for undereye concealer. You don’t want to jab your eye out! Rimmel Scandaleyes Kohl Kajal in Taupe is also very nice for a wash of colour but unfortunately I’ve destroyed it with a sharpener and don’t think I’ll be using it in the near future. Mascara is something I never wear on a daily basis because even waterproof formulas tend to transfer no matter how much I powder under my eyes. However, I reach for Max Factor False Lash Effect Waterproof when a dressier occasion arises. It’s quite a wet formula but holds a curl very well if you work carefully enough.

I’ve started to set my brows in place now after discovering I look kind of weird with stray hairs sticking out. The cheap Essence brow gel works perfectly and I’m glad I picked it up on a whim. Just not stoked that it takes off some of the brow powder and now I have an opaque, gross-looking tube. I’m almost done – my foolproof way to reverse a cakey face is a couple of spritzes with Jurlique Rosewater Balancing Mist Intense all over. I do this before curling my lashes with my trusty Shiseido Eyelash Curler because moisture makes them instantly droop. And nobody got time for that! Next up is illumination with either my old faithful Bourjois Little Round Pot Eyeshadow in Beige or TheBalm Mary-Lou Manizer which I have barely made a dent in after a year! Crazy value for money, that one. Finally, I like to warm up my skin with MAC Bronzing Powder in Bronze or MAC Harmony Powder Blush. Since Harmony leans toward the warm, earthy side of the blush spectrum, it’s great for creating shadows on the face. I also find that applying blush and bronzer on ever so slightly dampened skin gives a more pigmented outcome. When I’m waiting for the bus, I reach for Revlon Colorburst Lip Gloss in Cheers, which is a berry shade that enhances my natural lip colour.

 

What are your go-to products on a daily basis?

 

XO Lauren

Leave a Reply

