Beauty

Cheap thrills

There is no better way to lighten up an unusually grey week than to check out sales at Chemist Warehouse. After receiving the latest catalogue and discovering there was a 50% off sale on all Revlon and Maybelline products, you could not believe how excited I was! As easy as it could have been to grab bunches of lip butters, mascaras and eyeliners, I suppressed the urge and entered the store with some goals.

In all of twenty seconds, I gave a squeal and picked up two products to replenish my supply of concealer and pressed powder.

cw

revlonFirst up: My favourite undereye and anti-redness concealer, Revlon Photoready in the lightest shade 002 Light. I was glad this was half price because I’ve probably got a day or two’s worth of product left in 001 Fair and as lovely as it is, I can live without it for a week (FYI this shade is unavailable in Australia as it was purchased in Hong Kong).

I’ve been a devotee of Maybelline Fit Me concealer in 15 Fair for its price but what made me switch to Revlon Photoready for brightening the eyes was that it stays on for longer, doesn’t have a pink undertone, and gives slightly better coverage without being too cakey after powdering. Now for an everyday look, I reserve the liquid Fit Me for evening skintone (inspired by The Beauty Department): I paint a thin line above each of my eyebrows and blend away to instantly add light to my face. As a product minimalist, I find that this neat trick gives my skin that something extra and most importantly, I’m not breaking out near my face-framing bad boys! Breathing is good.

rimmelSince I’ve only got a little bit of Bourjois Healthy Balance Unifying Powder left before my second compact is used up, I grabbed Rimmel Stay Matte in 005 Silky Beige. I had in mind the translucent powder but at the last minute, wondered whether it would leave a whitish cast. Somebody could go with a less ghostly complexion at times!

XO Lauren

One thought on “Cheap thrills

Leave a Reply

