Drink · Food

Birthday feasting

Last night, R and I headed out to the city for R’s belated birthday feast at Jamie’s Italian and Saké Restaurant. R has been a close buddy of mine since the last year of primary school, and while much has changed since those early years, I’m sure our mutual passion for food (particularly Japanese and Italian cuisine) will lead to many more years of friendship. As they say, friends who dine together, stay together – I sure like to live by that!

End of spiel, let’s get straight into the food.

Wine

Everyone knows about the infamously long wait at Jamie’s but last night we only waited for 40 minutes which was time spent chatting over a bellini for R and a glass of the house white wine for me. Then we were seated at a larger table with another couple, I guess that beat waiting 1.5 hours for a two person table.

Plank

The glorious meat plank is one of my favourites.

Posh

Tried the so-called Posh Chips and didn’t enjoy them as much as I’d expected to.

Rabbit

My wild rabbit tagliolini was surprisingly moreish! I’m glad I chose something a bit different this time.

prawn

Prawn linguine for the birthday girl

Jamie's Italian on Urbanspoon

At 8pm, it was time to move on for dessert. We tossed up some Circular Quay destinations and ended up going to Saké – it had been half a year since we last went there for my birthday.

Desserts

R had the yuzu soufflé which I took a small spoonful of. It was delightfully refreshing and citrusy and she loved it! I went with a green tea kit kat which had an oriental etching on the white chocolate layer. What made it incredible was the earl grey ice cream, you’ve got to try it.

GTKK

Dessert

Drinks

To drink, R indulged her non-alcoholic side after a bellini, going with the Wakanai mocktail. Who knew a mocktail could taste so good? I took advantage of Saké’s list of unique cocktails and had the Hattori Hanzo – a mixture of gin, yuzu saké, cucumber, elderflower, citrus and jalapeno pepper that really packed a punch! The salty mishima rim balanced out the strong cucumber and zesty flavours. Overall, a very refreshing drink that’s guaranteed to take you on a spectacular journey of taste sensations.

Saké Restaurant & Bar on Urbanspoon

XO Lauren

Leave a Reply

