Hugo’s Bar Pizza, Kings Cross

Did you miss me?

I’m referring to that awful period of silence since my last post but rest assured, after I get through the next week of exams, I’ll be writing to my heart’s content and hopefully you’ll enjoy living vicariously through my posts!

So what brought my friend and I into the Cross this fine evening? Not much, really, just half price on the food menu.

photo 3 (20) photo 2 (25) photo 1 (25)

It’s becoming quite clear that my favourite places to dine have dark interiors illuminated by warm candlelight. Low quality photos, yes – but I do like how the dimness adds to a relaxed ambience and provides an escape from the outside world for a bit. Hugo’s has sectioned off some couches in one part of the restaurant, perfect for couples who’d want to enjoy an intimate moment… over a cocktail and pizza!

Onto our meal:

photo 2 (24)

First up were our share plates.

photo 1 (24)

Fresh rock oysters with sherry vinegar ($3.5 each) – I’m very fond of seafood and these were a great start to dinner.

photo 3 (19)

Beef carpaccio with white onion, parmesan salsa, lemon and rocket ($19) – I can say that my first time trying raw beef was a very pleasant one! The parmesan salsa was fantastic.

photo 4 (13)

Chorizo pizza with olives, peppers, sundried tomatoes and chipotle dressing ($28) – this was delicious and although Hugo’s has been awarded ‘best pizza restaurant’ on multiple occasions, I wouldn’t say it’s worth the exorbitant price. Save your pennies and head to Mad Pizza instead.

photo 2 (26)

Me, my awkward hand and the ‘Corpse Reviver #2’, a potent concoction of gin, apertif wine, Cointreau, absinthe and lemon juice. The sweet and citrusy aftertaste was nice!

photo 1 (26)

And this lovely lady had the ‘Lost in Translation’.

My final thoughts: We both had a great time tonight and I would love to return for a special occasion. Next time when there’s a cause for celebration, I’ll check out the Lounge and try another one of their fancy cocktails!

Hugo's Lounge on Urbanspoon
XO Lauren

One thought on “Hugo’s Bar Pizza, Kings Cross

Leave a Reply

