Food

A week of food

photo 1 (8)

My week started off with a visit to one of my favourite haunts – Cafe 1812 on top of Berkelouw Books. I spent too much time in the self-help book section flipping through Treasure Yourself and Textbook Romance. This cafe cannot be faulted especially if you love a home-y atmostphere and lots of natural light. With every trip, I find myself seated in front of the large floor-length window with urban Paddington in front of me.

Do try their tasty baked treats; I had a coconut bread which I smothered lime marmalade and ricotta on. I’m not usually a fan of marmalade and prefer jams but this was a winning combination! And that’s a very nice chai latte right there. Smooth, creamy and lightly spiced.

photo (5)

The days I have lunch on campus, I’m at Parma! Here I was having a blueberry muffin and english breakfast for afternoon tea before a lab class.

photo 2 (8)

A hot day calls for a short bus ride into Newtown for frozen yoghurt. I had guava grapefruit sorbet, coconut and peach topped off with lychee bursts and gummy bears. Not my best trio of flavours, I must admit.

photo 3 (8)

A $5.80 feed at Menya: Soba, sweet potato tempura and seaweed.

photo 4 (4)  I ended the week with macadamia and caramel gelato from Gelatissimo on George St. Already craving another one – I love whole nuts in my ice creams.

XO Lauren

One thought on “A week of food

Leave a Reply

