Beauty

the economics of hair products

I must admit, I’m a bit of a sucker for hair products – especially ones that I don’t really need and pick up on a whim hoard. When things are a click away, it takes me some self control and a checking of my savings account to get me back down from my window shopping high.

Hey, don’t despair.

Before entering payment details or connecting to your PayPal account, all you have to do is carefully consider the opportunity cost of purchasing that spanking new thing. It shouldn’t be too hard, right? In my case, I have to think about how much I need to give up ($) to get nice hair. ‘Nice’ is indeed quite subjective – what I consider volumised, beachy waves may be the homeless look that somebody else has envisioned. Really. To be honest, I tend to look dishevelled even on my good days and all dreams of silky, Pantene ad locks are crushed in a morning’s downpour.

But that’s beside the point. Do I really need a surf spray that costs $30? Will I end up compromising the healthy state of my hair by going cheap? What’s the use of a shine spray when I could probably use Elnett? Questions for the first world lady with no shame for high maintenance… But I’ve been a good girl for the past two months – my last hair splurge was on new shampoo and conditioner for that balayage I intended to keep for some time.

I’m very keen on getting some volumising and texturising products for this new ‘do of mine. What I’ve got my eye on:

Screen Shot 2013-08-08 at 10.18.11 PM

O&M Surf Bomb Sea Salt Spray / De Lorenzo Extinguish Thermal Protection Spray

KMS California FreeShape Hot Flex Spray / SilkSheen Leave-in Conditioner

Goldwell Dualsenses Blondes & Highlights Shine Serum Spray

In the end, it comes down to you and your bank account. My advice: do what makes you happy and make sure you won’t regret your decision (especially before your next paycheck!). How this translates into my life: okay, I like this leave in conditioner, will I use it often? Sure will. Do I have something like it already? Nope. Well if it’s got some long term benefits, it doesn’t at all sound half bad.

If all else fails, try convincing yourself that you’re doing your part for economic growth because that’s just a little bit important.

XO Lauren

Leave a Reply

