Beauty

My fall beauty essentials for class

Since starting my first few days of university in autumn, I’ve begun to see a need to change up my beauty routine. Nothing drastic, just little things here and there.

1. The base

I wasn’t a wearer of primer back in high school but now I see a greater need for this. It’s amazing how much better makeup applies onto the skin and blends if you use a bit of primer on areas such as the eyes and forehead. On days when I want a little bit more of an illuminating effect, I’ll go for L’Oreal Lumi Magique Light Concentrated Primer (Priceline, $29.95).

Image

I’m not the biggest fan of this particular primer because it leaves an oily finish which can be powdered over, but just feels as if it clogs my skin. Therefore, I wouldn’t ever use it on my T zone – my combination skin would not be happy! While Lumi Magique provides a brightening base, my concealer still creases under my eyes so when I got my mitts on TheBalm’s primer, I was more than happy to give it a go.

Image

TheBalm Time Balm Primer (David Jones, $34.95) is amazing. I only need the absolutely smallest bit of gel for my eye area and this definitely helps concealer stay put, so shelling out that much is worth it. It’s a great investment. Back in the day when primer was non-existent in my bathroom, I would apply makeup over moisturiser. Now, Time Balm makes my skin that much smoother, creating the perfect base for however many products I’d like to use.

2. The cover up

Longevity is the key thing I look for in products now.

Image

I’ve started using Maybelline’s SuperStay 24HR Concealer in Ivory (Priceline, $14.95) and compared to their FitMe! this stays on for a longer, except when I’m engaged in sweat-inducing activities (i.e. trekking from one side of uni to the other in 4 minutes). Otherwise, it’s a very good and affordable concealer for everyday wear.

3. The arches

I like to do the most subtle defining of my brows using two shades from Essence’s brow stylist set (Priceline, $4.95).

Screen Shot 2013-03-06 at 7.39.05 PM

I picked this up on a whim and turns out it works fine. I do a few strokes using the lighter brown at the start of my brow and the darker shade through the arch and to the end. The powder is easy to blend and lasts a day. I would purchase this set again because the colours are perfect for some natural definition and the price is cheap as chips.

4. The cheeks

I get my flush from MAC Pinch O’ Peach, which is a Sheertone powder blush with a pinky peach colour.

Screen Shot 2013-03-06 at 8.17.36 PM

(Image from Beauty and Makeup Boudoir)

I like this but while it is pigmented, it doesn’t quite last a whole day. I’m probably going to try some cream formulations from Illamasqua soon.

For my highlight, I’m obsessed with TheBalm Mary-Lou Manizer (David Jones, $34.95). I’ve raved about this in a previous post here. This usually goes on my cheekbones and sometimes on the inner corners of my eyes.

If I’m in a rush, I’ll skip the blush and highlighter and opt for some Rimmel Natural Bronzer in Sun Bronze (Priceline, $15.95) on my cheeks, blending it well to the edges of my face. It gives enough colour to make me look well rested and glowy!

5. The lips

Since I use blush on most days, I prefer to keep my lips nice and simple.

Screen Shot 2013-03-06 at 8.34.07 PM

Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain in Honey (Priceline, $17.95) does the trick for me and I can reapply it throughout the day. I’ll take a tissue and blot it once so it’s not too pink and glossy.

That’s all there is to it. No foundation, slick of eyeliner or a sweep of shadow on my lids. I just like to look presentable when I go to class so I prefer as little makeup as possible. It’s better for your skin, haha. But each to their own and importantly, whatever makes you happy.

XO Lauren

 

Leave a Reply

