Beauty

Hair hydration routine

I recoloured my hair a few days ago and this time, there was a noticeable change in the texture of my hair. I wasn’t very impressed with the chemical scent of L’Oréal Paris Casting Creme Gloss which has been lingering three days after the colouring. I thought it was strange how I added highlights a few months ago using bleach and that seemed to do less damage than the dyeing. Anyway, in this post I’ll be giving you a rundown of the few products I use to bring my hair back to life. Before I jump in, the shampoo and conditioner I use changes, but recently I’ve been loving Sunsilk’s Co-Creations Detox for Men shampoo (a real cheapie) and Herbal Essences conditioner. You’re probably thinking why I’m using a guy’s shampoo, but it actually works so well and gives the most refreshing cleanse ever! That’s one good thing about living with brother, you get to discover new products. It’s important to use a clarifying product twice a week to get rid of all the built up product if you use hair styling clays, hairsprays or oils frequently.

Three different types of oils:

Image

These are on high rotation in my hair care routine and vary in price and result. I apply them both after I towel dry my hair and when it’s dry because I like to think it repairs my split ends, but we know that’s not true. I don’t know why products are marketed as being able to fuse split ends so that they magically return to their normal state, when getting a hair cut is your best shot at maintaining healthy locks.

Image

John Frieda Full Repair Perfect Ends Deep Infusion, $16 for 50mL, Priceline

This baby uses inca inchi oil to smooth out my hair. I love that I can use two pumps and not have my hair feel oily at all. It also doubles up as a heat protectant so I can heat style straight after apply this infusion to my ends. For the price, I’m quite certain this one is unparalleled and you can find it anywhere. I’ve been using this for more than a year so it is great value.

Image

Silk Oil of Morocco Hair and Skin Treatment, $49.50 for 125mL, salons

I’d say this is equivalent to Moroccanoil, and while I can’t vouch for its quality, I’m sure it can’t be too different as they both compose of argan oil. Silk’s treatment is definitely a thicker consistency than John Frieda’s which lends it an oilier feel on the hair. To combat this, I use half pumps each time so that I don’t waste any product. If I need to use more, I’ll do another half pump. I’ve been using this more recently because my John Frieda treatment is running out. Overall, I do like it and I will finish it up but after that, I’m returning to my old faithful.

Image

  The Body Shop Coconut Oil Hair Shine, HK$79 for 50g, The Body Shop

This is the first haircare item I’ve bought from The Body Shop and I stumbled on it while I was in Hong Kong late last year. I was instantly draw to the true to life coconut scent which was absolutely beautiful! This resembles butter a little and you have to rub it around to get the product. Then I rub it between my palms and smear it onto the ends of my dry hair. It works very well to smooth out frizziness and adds a touch of definition to my bed hair. It’s just a shame this great product isn’t available in Australian stores, I’d purchase it again for sure.

XO Lauren

One thought on “Hair hydration routine

Leave a Reply

