Tags

, , , , , , ,

Last night I enjoyed a candle and lamp-lit dinner with a good friend from school at La Rosa Bar and Pizza in the Strand Arcade. As the sister of one-hatted Pendolino on the other side of the second level, I was excited to see what they had to offer.

photo 1 (21)

We sat in a corner of the main area of the restaurant – La Rosa’s bar area is perfect for pizza and drinks after work or uni.

photo 3 (16)

photo 4 (11)

photo 2 (21)

After much deliberation (pizza? pasta? salumi?), F and I each chose the famous conchiglioni col Riplieno di Zucca ($26). I read about it in some reviews and it seemed to be a quite unique pasta dish consisting of pumpkin, mustard fruit, ricotta and parmigiano.

photo 1 (22)

I must say it was delicious and surprising. I did not expect the pumpkin to be so soft but it tasted great inside pasta shells that were covered under a layer of cheesy, flavoursome goodness. I’ve been inspired to make my own conchiglioni now!

Known for being very fond of my desserts, I was unfortunately too stuffed to savour anything on the menu.

photo 2 (22)

So we began to wind down with a little glass of liqueur – F had Frangelico with lime, and I had Luxardo Amaretto.

photo 3 (17)

The glasses were too small for her lime and she looked likeΒ suchΒ a lady when squeezing it!

Some final thoughts: Granted, it was a Thursday night and the restaurant was a bit empty, but the service was excellent. I couldn’t expect more from the waitstaff! Ambience was spot on; La Rosa was obviously an ideal location for an intimate dinner but worked just as well with a large group near us. Overall, my friend and I had a memorable experience and I have definitely got a return planned in the near future, perhaps a date – who knows?

photo 4 (12)

Then finish off the night with a selfie in the Strand’s old lift, why not?

La Rosa Bar and Pizza on Urbanspoon

XO Lauren

