Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Let me just update you on last night’s shenanigans before I get stuck back into memory extinction and context generalization (psychology, what else?).

I’m usually one to do my research before heading out to eat but yesterday was an adventure and I’ll admit I liked this interesting turn of events. Although my psychology report would be due next week, I decided to commit to dinner plans with a friend of mine. I was aware of a $2 per plate sushi dinner deal at Umi Sushi but because we got a bit lost, a walk in Darling Quarter led to some new dining discoveries! I’ve never been too keen on eating at Darling Harbour because everything seems like a hit or miss, and with premium prices I’m not willing to take the risk.

So we walked, and then we found Cyren Restaurant and Bar. There was live music, lights, quite a few people and seafood. All good indicators of a worthwhile place to be. As we approached the bar to order, I was spotted staring intently at the happy hour list and the waitress informed me there was one minute to go before it ended. And without considering my drinking earlier this week, I chose a mojito… and because I’m a, well newbieΒ I pronounced it incorrectly, but shhh… nobody else heard.

photo 5 (4)

Waiting in my neck of the woods (not really) in the early evening

photo 5 (5)

Being a tourist in my own city

photo 1 (14)

photo 4 (7)

She belted out Adele, Kings of Leon and Amy Winehouse among others.

photo 3 (12) Image-1

Β Cheap cocktails… under $20 with a view, what is this?

photo 4 (6) photo 2 (13)

Lemon and pepper prawns with aioli $10

photo 1 (13)

Salt and pepper calamari $10

Cyren Restaurant and Bar on Urbanspoon

photo (8)

Craving something substantial for dessert, we actually made the trek to Circular Quay, with some help from public transport. Our pancakes arrived at the table quickly but it would be nice if the staff worked on customer service a bit more. After all, it’s what you’d expect from establishments in The Rocks.

Pancakes on the Rocks on Urbanspoon

 

Hope you’re all having a lovely weekend!

XO Lauren

